Wednesday, 15 August 2012

Create & Manage of Outlook PST files

SUMMARY:

This article describes how to use personal storage folders, also known as .pst files, to back up data that you created in Microsoft Office Outlook 2007, Microsoft Office Outlook 2003, and Microsoft Office Outlook 2002. You can back up messages, contacts, appointments, tasks, notes, and journal entries in .pst files.

Note This article describes how to use .pst files in Outlook 2007, Outlook 2003, and Outlook 2002 only.

If you use a different e-mail program, such as Microsoft Outlook Express or Hotmail, or if you have problems with your e-mail program, this article is not intended for you. Go to the "References" section for links to other articles and suggestions for solutions.

INTRODUCTION:

Microsoft Outlook automatically stores messages, contacts, appointments, tasks, notes, and journal entries in one of the following two locations:
  • In a personal storage folder, also known as a .pst file, on your hard disk drive.
  • In a mailbox that is located on the server. Your mailbox is located on a server if you use Outlook with Microsoft Exchange Server.
You can use a backup of your .pst file to restore or move your Outlook data if you experience a hardware failure, lose data unexpectedly, have to transfer data from one computer to another computer, or have to transfer data from one hard disk drive to another hard disk drive.

This article describes how to do several things with your .pst files. Select an action from the following list:
  • How to make a backup copy of a .pst file: If you do not use Outlook with Microsoft Exchange Server, use this section to back up your whole .pst file.
  • How to back up .pst file data that is located on a Microsoft Exchange Server: If you use Outlook with Microsoft Exchange Server, use this section to back up your Outlook data.
  • How to export .pst file data: Use this section if you want to back up only a few folders or a specific kind of data, such as mail messages only.
  • How to import .pst file data into Outlook: Use this section to restore data into Outlook from a .pst file that you have already backed up.
  • How to transfer Outlook data from one computer to another computer: Use this section to transfer the data that you saved in a .pst file from one computer to another computer.
  • How to back up Personal Address Books: Use this section to back up your Personal Address Book.
  • How to use the Personal Folder Backup utility to automate the backup of .pst files: Use this section to automatically back up your .pst files weekly, monthly, or at an interval that you select.
  • How to back up Outlook settings files: Use this section to back up your toolbar and menu settings, your Internet Explorer Favorites, your signature files, and any nicknames that you have assigned your contacts.
  • How to find a .pst file: If you want to add an existing .pst file to Outlook but you do not know exactly where it lies on your computer, you can search for it.

How to make a backup copy of a .pst file

If you do not use Outlook with Microsoft Exchange Server, Outlook stores all its data in a .pst file. You can use the backup copy to restore your Outlook data if the original .pst file is damaged or lost. This section explains how to create a copy of your whole .pst file, with all the default items in the file.

Follow these steps to back up the whole .pst file:
  1. Close any messaging programs such as Outlook, Microsoft Exchange, or Microsoft Windows Messaging.
  2. Click Start, and then click Run. Copy and paste (or type) the following command in the Open box, and then press ENTER:
    control panel
    Control Panel opens.

    Note If you see the Pick a category screen, click User Accounts, and then go to step 3.
  3. Double-click the Mail icon.
  4. Click Show Profiles.
  5. Click the appropriate profile, and then click Properties.
  6. Click Data Files.
  7. Under Name, click the Personal Folders Service that you want to back up. By default, this service is called Personal Folders. However, it may be named something else.

    Note If you have more than one Personal Folders Service in your profile, you must back up each set of .pst files separately.

    If there are no entries called Personal Folders and you have not yet stored any information such as messages, contacts, or appointments in Outlook, you probably have not yet enabled the Personal Folders Service. Go to the "References" section for information about how to create a .pst file.

    If you have no Personal Folders Services in your profile and you can store information such as messages, contacts, or appointments in Outlook, your information is probably being stored in a mailbox on an Exchange Server. Try using the instructions in the "How to back up .pst file data that is located on a Microsoft Exchange Server" section.
  8. Click Settings, and then note the path and file name that appears.

    Note Because the .pst file contains all data that is stored in the MAPI folders that Outlook uses, the file can be very large. To reduce the size of the .pst file, click Compact Now in the Settings window.
  9. Close all the Properties windows.
  10. Use Windows Explorer or My Computer to copy the file that you noted in step 8. You can copy the file to another location on the hard disk drive or to any kind of removable storage media, such as a floppy disk, a CD-ROM, a portable hard disk drive, a magnetic tape cassette, or any other storage device.

How to back up .pst file data that is located on a Microsoft Exchange Server

To know how to back up your data if you use Outlook with a Microsoft Exchange Server, you have to know where the data is stored. The default delivery and storage location for Outlook data is the Exchange Server mailbox. The Exchange Server administrator usually handles backups of the mailboxes on the server. However, some Exchange Server administrators store Outlook data in a .pst file on your hard disk drive.

Follow these steps to see where Outlook is currently storing your data:

In Outlook 2010:

  1. Click the File tab on the Outlook ribbon.
  2. In the Info category, click the Account Settings button, and then click Account Settings.
  3. In the Account Settings window, click the Data Files tab.

    If the Location field contains the word "Online" or a path to a file that has the file name extension .ost, Outlook stores data in folders on the Exchange Server. Contact the Exchange Server administrator for more information about how backups are handled.

    If the Location field contains a path to a file that has the file name extension .pst, Outlook stores new messages, contacts, appointments, and other data in a .pst file on your hard disk. To back up the data, go to the "How to make a backup copy of a .pst file" section.


In Outlook 2007:

  1. On the Tools menu, click Options, click the Mail Setup tab, and then click E-mail Accounts.
  2. In the Account Settings window, click the Data Files tab.

    If the Name field contains the word "Mailbox" followed by an e-mail name, Outlook stores data in folders on the Exchange Server. Contact the Exchange Server administrator for more information about how backups are handled.

    If the field contains the words "Personal Folder" or the name of a set of personal folders or .pst files, Outlook stores new messages, contacts, appointments, and other data in a .pst file on your hard disk. To back up the data, go to the "How to make a backup copy of a .pst file" section.

In an earlier version of Outlook:

  1. On the Tools menu, click E-mail Accounts.

    Note This option might be unavailable on some networks. The network administrator might have removed this option to protect the account information. If you do not see the Email Accounts option, contact the network administrator for help.
  2. Click View or Change Existing Email Accounts, and then click Next.
  3. Look at the Deliver new e-mail to the following location option. If the option contains the word "Mailbox" followed by an e-mail name, Outlook stores data in folders on the Exchange Server. Contact the Exchange Server administrator for more information about how backups are handled.

    If the field contains the words "Personal Folder" or the name of a set of personal folders or .pst files, Outlook stores new messages, contacts, appointments, and other data in a .pst file on your hard disk. To back up the data, go to the "How to make a backup copy of a .pst file" section.

How to export .pst file data

If you want to back up only some of your Outlook data, you can create a new backup .pst file of only the data that you want to save. This is also known as exporting .pst file data. For example, you might want to use this section if you have important information in only some folders and you have other, less important items in much larger folders. You can export only the important folders or contacts and omit folders like Sent Mail.

In Outlook 2010:

Follow these steps to export a specific folder:
  1. Click the File tab.
  2. In the Outlook Options window, click Advanced.
  3. Click Export.
  4. In the Import and Export Wizard, click Export to a file, and then click Next.
  5. Click Outlook Data File (.pst), and then click Next.
  6. Select the folder to export, and then click Next.
  7. Click Browse, and then select the location where you want the new .pst file to be saved.
  8. In the File Name box, type the name that you want to use for the new .pst file, and then click OK.
  9. Click Finish.

In an earlier version of Outlook:

  1. Open Outlook.
  2. On the File menu, click Import And Export. If the menu item is not available, move your pointer over the chevrons at the bottom of the menu, and then click Import and Export.
  3. Click Export To File, and then click Next.
  4. Click Personal Folder File (.pst), and then click Next.
  5. Click the folder to which you want to export the .pst file, and then click Next.
  6. Click Browse, and then select the location where you want the new .pst file to be saved.
  7. In the File Name box, type the name that you want to use for the new .pst file, and then click OK.
  8. Click Finish.
Note Folder design properties include permissions, filters, description, forms, and views. If you export items from one .pst file to another, no folder design properties are maintained.

How to import .pst file data into Outlook

You can use the backup copy of your .pst file to restore your Outlook data if the original .pst file is damaged or lost. Everything that is saved in the .pst file is returned to Outlook.

In Outlook 2010:

Follow these steps to restore, or import, your data into Outlook:
  1. Click the File tab.
  2. In the Open category, click Import.
  3. In the Import and Export Wizard, click Import from another program or file, and then click Next.
  4. Click Outlook Data File (.pst), and then click Next.
  5. Type the path and the name of the .pst file that you want to import, or click Browse to choose the file to import.

    Note Under Options, it is recommended that you click Do not import duplicates, unless you want the imported information to replace or duplicate items that are already in Outlook.
  6. Click Next.
  7. Select the folder that you want to import. To import everything in the .pst file, select the top of the hierarchy.

    Note The top folder (usually Personal Folders, Outlook Data File or your email address) is selected automatically. Include subfolders is selected by default. All folders under the folder selected will be imported
  8. Click Finish.


In earlier versions of Outlook:

Follow these steps to restore, or import, your data into Outlook:
  1. If the .pst file that you want to import is stored on a removable device, such as a floppy disk, a portable hard disk drive, a CD-ROM, a magnetic tape cassette, or any other storage medium, insert or connect the storage device, and then copy the .pst file to the hard disk drive of the computer.

    When you copy the .pst file, make sure that the Read-Only attribute is not selected. If this attribute is selected, you might receive the following error message:
    The specified device, file, or path could not be accessed. It may have been deleted, it may be in use, you may be experiencing network problems, or you may not have sufficient permission to access it. Close any application using this file and try again.
    If you receive this error message, clear the Read-Only attribute, and then copy the file again.
  2. Open Outlook.
  3. On the File menu, click Import And Export. If the command is not available, move the pointer over the chevrons at the bottom of the menu, and then click Import and Export.
  4. Click Import from another program or file, and then click Next.
  5. Click Personal Folder File (.pst), and then click Next.
  6. Type the path and the name of the .pst file that you want to import, and then click Next.
  7. Select the folder that you want to import. To import everything in the .pst file, select the top of the hierarchy.
  8. Click Finish.

How to transfer Outlook data from one computer to another computer

You cannot share or synchronize .pst files between one computer and another computer. However, you can still transfer Outlook data from one computer to another computer.

Use the instructions in the "How to make a backup copy of a .pst file" section to copy the .pst file to a CD or DVD-ROM or other portable media, or copy the file to another computer over a LAN/WAN link.

Note Connecting to .pst files over LAN/WAN links is not supported, and problems connecting to .pst files over such links can occur. See the following article for more information:
Personal folder files are unsupported over a LAN or over a WAN link

You might also want to create a new, secondary .pst file that is intended for transferring data only. Save the data that you want to transfer in this new .pst file and omit any data that you do not want to transfer. If you need to make a secondary .pst file to store data for transfer between two different computers, or for backup purposes, use the following steps.

In Outlook 2010:

  1. Click the File tab.
  2. In the Info category, click the Account Settings button, and then click Account Settings.
  3. In the Account Settings window, click the Data Files tab.
  4. Click Add, click Outlook data file (.pst), and then click OK.
  5. Type a unique name for the new pst. file. For example, type Transfer.pst, and then click OK.
  6. Close Outlook.


In earlier versions of Outlook:

  1. On the File menu, point to New, and then click Outlook Data File.
  2. Type a unique name for the new .pst file. For example, type Transfer.pst, and then click OK.
  3. Type a display name for the Personal Folders file, and then click OK.
  4. Close Outlook.
Follow these steps to copy an existing .pst file:
  1. Use the instructions in the "How to make a backup copy of a .pst file" section to make a backup copy of the .pst file that you want to transfer. Make sure that you copy the backup .pst file to a CD-ROM or to another kind of removable media.
  2. Copy the backup .pst file from the removable media to the second computer.
  3. Follow the steps in the "How to import .pst file data into Outlook" section to import the .pst file data into Outlook on the second computer.

How to back up Personal Address Books

Your Personal Address Book might contain e-mail addresses and contact information that is not included in an Outlook Address Book or contact list. The Outlook Address Book can be kept either in an Exchange Server mailbox or in a .pst file. However, the Personal Address Book creates a separate file that is stored on your hard disk drive. To make sure that this address book is backed up, you must include any files that have the .pab extension in your backup process.

Follow these steps to locate your Personal Address Book file:
  1. If you are running Windows Vista: Click Start.

    If you are running Windows XP: Click Start, and then click Search.

    If you are running Windows 95 or Windows 98: Click Start, point to Find, and then click Files or Folders.

    If you are running Windows 2000 or Windows Millennium Edition (Me): Click Start, point to Search, and then click For Files or Folders.
  2. Type *.pab, and then press ENTER or click Find Now.

    Note the location of the .pab file. Use My Computer or Windows Explorer to copy the .pab file to the same folder or storage medium that contains the backup of the .pst file.
You can use this backup to restore your Personal Address Book to your computer or to transfer it to another computer. Follow these steps to restore the Personal Address Book:
  1. Close any messaging programs, such as Outlook, Microsoft Exchange, or Windows Messaging.
  2. Click Start, and then click Run. Copy and paste (or type) the following command in the Open box, and then press ENTER:
    control panel
    Control Panel opens.

    Note If you see the Pick a category screen, click User Accounts.
  3. Double-click the Mail icon.
  4. Click Show Profiles.
  5. Click the appropriate profile, and then click Properties.
  6. Click Email Accounts.
  7. Click Add a New Directory or Address Book, and then click Next
  8. Click Additional Address Books, and then click Next.
  9. Click Personal Address Book, and then click Next.
  10. Type the path and the name of the Personal Address Book file that you want to restore, click Apply, and then click OK.
  11. Click Close, and click then OK.
Note The Outlook Address Book is a service that the profile uses to make it easier to use a Contacts folder in a Mailbox, Personal Folder File, or Public Folder as an e-mail address book. The Outlook Address Book itself contains no data that has to be saved.

How to back up Outlook settings files


If you have customized settings, such as toolbar settings and Favorites, that you want to replicate on another computer or restore to your computer, you might want to include the following files in your backup:
  • Outcmd.dat: This file stores toolbar and menu settings.
  • ProfileName.fav: This is your Favorites file, which includes the settings for the Outlook bar (only applies to Outlook 2002 and older versions).
  • ProfileName.xml: This file stores the Navigation Pane preferences (only applies to Outlook 2003 and newer versions).
  • ProfileName.nk2: This file stores the Nicknames for AutoComplete.
  • Signature files: Each signature has its own file and uses the same name as the signature that you used when you created it. For example, if you create a signature named MySig, the following files are created in the Signatures folder:
    • MySig.htm: This file stores the HTML Auto signature.
    • MySig.rtf: This file stores the Microsoft Outlook Rich Text Format (RTF) Auto signature.
    • MySig.txt: This file stores the plain text format Auto signature.
    The location of the signature files depends on the version of Windows that you are running. Use this list to find the appropriate location:
    • Windows Vista or Windows 7: Drive\users\Username\appdata, where Drive represents the drive that Outlook was installed to and Username represents the user name that Outlook was installed under.
    • Windows XP or Windows 2000: Drive\Documents and Settings\Username\Local Settings\Application Data\Microsoft\Outlook, where Drive represents the drive that Outlook was installed to and Username represents the user name that Outlook was installed under.
    • Windows 98 or Windows Me: Drive\Windows\Local Settings\Application Data, where Drive represents the drive that Outlook was installed to.
Note If you use Microsoft Word as your e-mail editor, signatures are stored in the Normal.dot file as AutoText entries. You should back up this file also.

How to find a .pst file

If you do not know where an old or existing .pst file resides on your computer and you want to add this .pst file to your Outlook profile, this section explains how to search for the .pst file and then add it to your Outlook profile.

To search for the .pst file, follow these steps:
  1. To search for the .pst files:
    • If you are running Windows Vista: Click Start, and then click Computer. Locate the search window in the top-right corner.
    • If you are running Windows XP: Click Start, and then click Search.
    • If you are running Windows 95 or Windows 98: Click Start, point to Find, and then click Files or Folders.
    • If you are running Windows 2000 or Microsoft Windows Millennium Edition: Click Start, point to Search, and then click For Files or Folders.
  2. Type *.pst, and then press Enter or click Find Now. Locate the desired .pst file you want to add to Outlook. Record the location of the .pst file.
  3. Close the search window and start Outlook.
    • If you are running Outlook 2010, click the File tab, and then click Account Settings in the Info category. Click Account Settings again, and then click the Data Files tab in the window that appears.
    • If you are running Outlook 2007 or earlier, click the File menu, and then select Data File Management.
  4. Click the Add button, and then choose the correct type of .pst file to add. If your .pst file was created in Outlook 2007, choose Office Outlook Personal Folders File (.pst). If your .pst file was created in an older version of Outlook, such as Outlook 97, 2000, or XP, choose Outlook 97-2002 Personal Folders File (.pst).
  5. Navigate to the location of the desired .pst file that you found during your search above. Select the .pst file, and then click OK.
  6. Type a custom name for the .pst file or accept the default name. Click OK. Click Close to exit the current window.
Outlook now displays that .pst file in the Outlook folder list.

Monday, 13 August 2012

OUTLOOK 2010 SHORTCUT KEY'S

PROCEDURES IN ALL ITEMS:

To do thisPress
Save (except in Tasks).CTRL+S or SHIFT+F12
Save and close (except in Mail).ALT+S
Save as (only in Mail).F12
Undo.CTRL+Z or ALT+BACKSPACE
Delete an item.CTRL+D
Print.CTRL+P
Copy an item.CTRL+SHIFT+Y
Move an item.CTRL+SHIFT+V
Check names.CTRL+K
Check spelling.F7
Flag for follow-up.CTRL+SHIFT+G
Forward.CTRL+F
Send or post or invite all.ALT+S
Enable editing in a field (except in Mail or Icon view).F2
Left align text.CTRL+L
Center text.CTRL+E
Right align text.CTRL+R


EMAIL:

Switch to Inbox.CTRL+SHIFT+I
Switch to Outbox.CTRL+SHIFT+O
Choose the account from which to send a message.CTRL+TAB (with the focus on the To box), and then TAB to the Accounts button
Check names.CTRL+K
Send.ALT+S
Reply to a message.CTRL+R
Reply all to a message.CTRL+SHIFT+R
Reply with meeting request.CTRL+ALT+R
Forward a message.CTRL+F
Mark a message as not junk.CTRL+ ALT+J
Display blocked external content (in a message).CTRL+SHIFT+I
Post to a folder.CTRL+ SHIFT+S
Apply Normal style.CTRL+SHIFT+N
Check for new messages.CTRL+M or F9
Go to the previous message.UP ARROW
Go to the next message.DOWN ARROW
Create a message (when in Mail).CTRL+N
Create a message (from any Outlook view).CTRL+SHIFT+M
Open a received message.CTRL+O
Delete and Ignore a Conversation.CTRL+SHIFT+D
Open the Address Book.CTRL+SHIFT+B
Add a Quick Flag to an unopened message.INSERT
Display the Flag for Follow Up dialog box.CTRL+SHIFT+G
Mark as read.CTRL+Q
Mark as unread.CTRL+U
Open the Mail Tip in the selected message.CTRL+SHIFT+W
Find or replace.F4
Find next.SHIFT+F4
Send.CTRL+ENTER
Print.CTRL+P
Forward.CTRL+F
Forward as attachment.CTRL+ALT+F
Show the properties for the selected item.ALT+ENTER
Create a multimedia messageCTRL+SHIFT+U
Create a text message.CTRL+SHIFT+T
Mark for Download.CTRL+ALT+M
Clear Mark for Download.CTRL+ALT+U
Display Send/Receive progress.CTRL+B (when a Send/Receive is in progress)

Sunday, 12 August 2012

OUTLOOK 2010 Short Cut Key's

SEARCH:

To do thisPress
Find a message or other item.CTRL+E
Clear the search results.ESC
Expand the search to include All Mail Items, All Calendar Items, or All Contact Items, depending on the view that you are in.CTRL+ALT+A
Use Advanced Find.CTRL+SHIFT+F
Create a Search Folder.CTRL+SHIFT+P
Search for text inside an open item.F4
Find and replace text, symbols, or some formatting commands. Works in the Reading Pane on an open item.CTRL+H
Expand search to include items from the current folder.CTRL+ALT+K
Expand search to include subfolders.CTRL+ALT+Z



FLAGS:

Open the Flag for Follow Up dialog box to assign a flag.                                    CTRL+SHIFT+G


COLOR CATEGORIES:

Delete the selected category from the list in the Color Categories dialog box.      ALT+D



CREATE AN ITEM OR FILE:

Create an appointment.CTRL+SHIFT+A
Create a contact.CTRL+SHIFT+C
Create a Contact List.CTRL+SHIFT+L
Create a fax.CTRL+SHIFT+X
Create a folder.CTRL+SHIFT+E
Create a Journal entry.CTRL+SHIFT+J
Create a meeting request.CTRL+SHIFT+Q
Create a message.CTRL+SHIFT+M
Create a note.CTRL+SHIFT+N
Create a Microsoft Office document.CTRL+SHIFT+H
Post to this folder.CTRL+SHIFT+S
Post a reply in this folder.CTRL+T
Create a Search Folder.CTRL+SHIFT+P
Create a task.CTRL+SHIFT+K
Create a task request.CTRL+SHIFT+U

Shortcuts of Microsoft Outlook 2010

To do thisPress
Switch to Mail.CTRL+1
Switch to Calendar.CTRL+2
Switch to Contacts.CTRL+3
Switch to Tasks.CTRL+4
Switch to Notes.CTRL+5
Switch to Folder List in Navigation Pane.CTRL+6
Switch to Shortcuts.CTRL+7
Switch to next message (with message open).CTRL+PERIOD
Switch to previous message (with message open).CTRL+COMMA
Move between the Navigation Pane, the main Outlook window, the Reading Pane, and the To-Do Bar.CTRL+SHIFT+TAB or SHIFT+TAB
Move between the Outlook window, the smaller panes in the Navigation Pane, the Reading Pane, and the sections in the To-Do Bar.TAB
Move between the Outlook window, the smaller panes in the Navigation Pane, the Reading Pane, and the sections in the To-Do Bar, and show the access keys in the Outlook ribbon.F6
Move around message header lines in the Navigation Pane or an open message.CTRL+TAB
Move around within the Navigation Pane.Arrow keys
Go to a different folder.CTRL+Y
Go to the Search box.F3 or CTRL+E
In the Reading Pane, go to the previous message.ALT+UP ARROW or CTRL+COMMA or ALT+PAGE UP
In the Reading Pane, page down through text.SPACEBAR
In the Reading Pane, page up through text.SHIFT+SPACEBAR
Collapse or expand a group in the email message list.LEFT ARROW or RIGHT ARROW
Go back to previous view in main Outlook window.ALT+B or ALT+LEFT ARROW
Go forward to next view in main Outlook window.ALT+RIGHT ARROW
Select the InfoBar and, if available, show the menu of commands.CTRL+SHIFT+W

Thursday, 9 August 2012

Shared Mailbox with Outlook 2010. Handling Deleted & Sent Items

Microsoft Outlook 2010 introduced several new features.  Unfortunately, it removed one feature that many organizations utilize: sent items & deleted items support for shared mailboxes.  By default, Outlook 2010 will place all sent items and deleted items in the user's mailbox.  The issue with this is that users of a shared mailbox cannot see what emails have been sent out or deleted.  In Outlook 2007, you could manually enable this feature by adding a registry key.  This doesn't work the same way in Outlook 2010.  There is a fix though.

  1. Obtain the hotfix from Microsoft found at http://support.microsoft.com/kb/2459115
    You need will need to fill out the information to have Microsoft send you a link to the hotfixes.  There is one for x64 and x86.
  2. Install the provided hotfix.
  3. On the client computer logged in as the user, add the following registry key (based on http://support.microsoft.com/kb/972148):
    [HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Office\14.0\Outlook\Preferences]
    "DelegateSentItemsStyle "=dword:00000001
  4. In the mail profile, add each shared mailbox as an account.
  5. Reboot the computer.
You should now see that the sent and deleted items are stored in the shared mailbox.

Error stating that: Microsoft Outlook cannot start. Cannot open the Outlook


Symptoms

When you start Outlook 2007, you receive the following error:
Cannot start Microsoft Office Outlook. Cannot open the Outlook window.

Cause

This problem can occur when file that maintains the Navigation Pane settings becomes corrupted. This file is called profilename.xml, where profilename is the name of your Outlook profile. This file is stored in the following folder:
  • Windows XP

    C:\Documents and Settings\username\Application Data\Microsoft\Outlook
  • Windows Vista, Windows 7

    C:\Users\username\AppData\Roaming\Microsoft\Outlook
A good indication this file is corrupted is when the file size is 0 KB.

Resolution

To resolve this problem, automatically, go to the "Fix it for me" section. If you’d rather resolve this problem yourself, go to the "Let me fix it myself" section.

Fix it for me

To resolve this problem automatically, click the  Fix this problem link. Then click Run in the File Download dialog box, and follow the steps in this wizard.



Fix this problem
Microsoft Fix it 50511


Note This wizard may be in English only. However, the automatic fix also works for other language versions of Windows.

Note If you are not on the computer that has the problem, you can save the automatic fix to a flash drive or to a CD so that you can run it on the computer that has the problem.

Let me fix it myself

To resolve this problem, use the following steps.
  1. On the Start menu click Run.
  2. In the Run dialog box, type the following command:

    Outlook.exe /resetnavpane

    Note:
    There is a space between "Outlook.exe" and "/resetnavpane"
  3. Click OK.
Note If you are using Windows Vista or Windows 7, you may not see Run on the Start menu. In this situation, use the following steps to locate the Run option.
  1. On the Start menu click All Programs.
  2. Click Accessories.
  3. Click Run.

More Information

If the profilename.xml file is 0 KB in size, install the following hotfix package to prevent Outlook from displaying the error described in the Symptoms section:
983316 Description of the Office Outlook 2007 hotfix package (Outlook-x-none.msp): June 29, 2010
You can use the following steps to determine the name of your Outlook profile.
  • Windows XP
  1. Open Control Panel.
  2. Switch to Classic View.
  3. Double-click Mail.
  4. Click Show Profiles.
  5. Note the name of your Outlook profile on the General tab.
  6. If you see more than one profile on the General tab, the default profile is listed in the drop-down control under When starting Microsoft Office Outlook, use this profile.
  7. Click OK to close the Mail control panel.
  • Windows Vista, Windows 7
  1. Open Control Panel.
  2. In the Search Control Panel box, type Mail.
  3. Click Mail.
  4. Click Show Profiles
  5. Note the name of your Outlook profile on the General tab
  6. If you see more than one profile on the General tab, the default profile is listed in the drop-down control under When starting Microsoft Office Outlook, use this profile.
  7. Click OK to close the Mail control panel.

Wednesday, 8 August 2012

Not able to open the Hyper Links from Outlook

Make Links Work in Windows Mail, Outlook Express, Outlook and Any Other Email Program

METHOD 1:Windows Vista To restore links in email programs using Windows Vista:
  • Open the Windows menu.
  • Type "default programs" (not including the quotation marks) under Start Search.
  • Click Default Programs under Programs.
  • Now click Set your default programs.
  • Highlight Internet Explorer under Programs.
  • Click Set this program as default.
  • Now click OK.
  • Close the default programs window.
Of course, you can now choose a different browser from the same Programs list and use Set this program as default to make it your default. Windows 98/2000/XP To make web pages open again when you click links in emails using Windows XP and earlier:
  • Make sure neither Outlook Express nor Internet Explorer are open.
  • Select Control Panel from the Start menu.
  • Click Internet Options.
    • If you do not see Internet Options right away, click Network and Internet Connections before.
  • Go to the Programs tab.
  • Make sure Internet Explorer should check to see whether it is the default browser is checked.
  • Click OK.
  • Close Internet Explorer.
  • Re-open Internet Explorer.
  • Click Yes when asked Internet Explorer asks "Internet Explorer is not currently your default browser. Would you like to make it your default browser?"
    • If Internet Explorer does not ask:
    • Close Internet Explorer
    • Select My Computer from the Start menu.
    • Choose Tools | Folder Options... from the menu.
    • Go to the File Types tab.
    • Highlight (NONE) URL:HyperText Transfer Protocol.
    • Click Advanced.
    • Highlight open.
    • Click Remove.
    • Click Yes.
    • Click OK.
    • Now click Close.
    • Start Internet Explorer.
  • If you use a browser other than Internet Explorer, start it and make sure it is the new default.

    • The above does not work? Try this:
      • Now select Run... from the Start menu.
      • Type "iexplore /rereg".
      • Click OK.
      Or, if that fails, continue with the following. Proceed very cautiously, though.
      • Select Run... from the Start menu.
      • Type "regsvr32 urlmon.dll".
      • Click OK.
      • Click OK again.
      • Repeat the Start | Run... procedure with the following commands in this order, maybe checking after each for returning function:
        • "regsvr32 shdocvw.dll"
        • "regsvr32 mshtml.dll"
        • "regsvr32 browseui.dll"

          METHOD 2:

          Download the below mentioned Microsoft Fix and install it and restart the outlook.

          MicrosoftFixit50388.msi

          Diffrence between Outlook 2007 & 2010

          New and updated features in Office 2010

          The following are highlights of Office 2010.

          Fluent user interface

          The Office 2010 Fluent user interface (UI) lets you support users more efficiently. It contains updates to the ribbon and a new Backstage view that displays the details of files and functionalities, even letting you create a custom UI, all within the XML schema.
          The ribbon organizes commands in a more usable way by presenting them as a set of tabs. Each contextual tab represents a task area relevant to a particular Office product. The ribbon is improved in Office 2010 and is included in all Office 2010 applications.

          Backstage view

          The Microsoft Office Backstage view in Office 2010 replaces the Microsoft Office Button of the 2007 Microsoft Office system. The Backstage view enables you to create a custom UI, similar to within the ribbon, and to add elements such as workflow or task information that is specific to an organization’s needs. The Backstage view is available in all Office 2010 applications, and replaces the File menu of earlier Microsoft Office versions.

          Silverlight

          Microsoft Silverlight is a technology that works in the browser and on the desktops that brings many Microsoft Office experience to life with amazing video, animations and interactivity. Microsoft recommends installing Microsoft Silverlight along with Office to improve the information worker user experience with Office 2010. Specifically, Microsoft Silverlight enables better online experience with Office Online, powers the Office 2010 interactive guides (available with Office 2010), improves the user experience of Office SharePoint 2010, improves the performance of Office Web Companion applications and help with the process of uploading Office document to cloud services.

          File formats

          Microsoft Office 2003 introduced a format based on extensible markup language (XML) that enabled you to understand the details of a document. The 2007 Office system made XML the default file format so that you could easily work with your documents. The data that was contained in the XML file listed the content in a document, and the description included any settings that were needed for the document to work within the application. In addition to supporting about 20 different document formats including XML Paper Specification (XPS), Portable Document Format (PDF) 1.5, PDF/A and Open Document Format (ODF) v1.1. Office 2010 continues to support XML.
          The XML format provides advantages such as easier data mining and content reuse; faster document creation from different data sources; reduction of the size of Excel, PowerPoint, and Word files; and improved data recovery of corrupted files.
          ODF users can save documents in version 1.1 of the ODF for Word, Excel and PowerPoint. Users can open, edit and save files in the OpenDocument Text (*.odt), OpenDocument Spreadsheet (*.ods), and OpenDocument Presentations (*.odp) formats.

          Edition comparison

          Differences between Microsoft Office versions
          Within each application, Office 2010 has improved functionality in many areas. When the 2007 Microsoft Office system was released, a significant difference from Office 2003 was the introduction of the ribbon in the user interface (UI) for Microsoft Office Access 2007, Microsoft Office Excel 2007, Microsoft Office PowerPoint 2007, Microsoft Office Word 2007, and parts of Microsoft Office Outlook 2007. The UI changed from a collection of menus and toolbars to a single ribbon mechanism. The Office 2010 suites maintain the ribbon and have some new features.
          The ribbon is now available across all products of the Office 2010 suites so moving from one application to another is seamless. In addition to changes in the ribbon, the Office 2010 suites background is now a gray color, by default, whereas the 2007 Office system background was blue.
          The following table describes the differences in UI elements between Office 2010, the 2007 Office system, and Office 2003.

           

          UI element Office 2010 Office 2007 Office 2003
          Menus and tabsThe ribbon replaces menus and toolbars across all Products of Office 2010 and can be fully customized.The ribbon replaces menus and toolbars in Access 2007, Office Excel 2007, PowerPoint 2007, Word 2007, and parts of Outlook 2007.Menus and toolbars only are available.
          Task panesGroups of commands on the ribbon and the ability to customize.Groups of commands on the ribbon and the ability to customize.Basic task pane.
          Quick Access Toolbar (QAT)Fully customizable.Introduced in 2007.Not available.
          Backstage viewMore tools outside the document viewing window.Limited tools that can be accessed through the Microsoft Office Button.Limited tools on the File menu
          Digital signaturesFound in the Backstage view under Information about Document / Protect Document.Formatted with XMLDSig, found under File / Finalize Document / Signatures.Found under Tools / Options / Security / Digital Signatures
          Smart ArtImproved from the 2007 version.Design tools available in all Microsoft Office applications.Not available.
          Open Formats (*.odt) OpenDocument TextIncluded in this version.Added in 2007 Office system Service Pack 2 (SP2).Not available.
          Windows Live Writer integrationBlog posting options available in the application.Not available.Not available.
          Spelling checkerThe spelling checker is now integrated with automatic correction.Basic spelling checker.Basic spelling checker.
          Paste PreviewA live preview before you commit to Paste. Avoids having to use the Undo button.Paste, Undo, Paste.Basic Paste capabilities.
          PrintThe Backstage combines Print with Print Preview, Page Layout and other print options. Microsoft Office Button, Print with limited printing tools spread across several commands.Basic Print option on the File menu.
          SparklinesA miniature chart inserted into text or embedded in a spreadsheet cell to summarize data.Dynamic charts and chart types.Three-dimensional (3-D) charting.
          E-mail EssentialsConversation, Cleanup, Ignore Thread, and Mail Tips for when a person is out of the office or if e-mail is sent to a group.Not available.Not available.
          Photo editing toolsAvailable in these applications: (Word 2010, Excel 2010, PowerPoint 2010, Outlook 2010, and Microsoft Publisher 2010).Limited functionality.Limited functionality.
          Video in Microsoft PowerPointVideo triggers and controls.Not available.Not available.

          Tuesday, 7 August 2012

          Adding mailbox in Outlook 2003/2007/2012

          Microsoft Outlook 2002 and Microsoft Office Outlook 2003

          1. Start Outlook with a profile that is configured for the Exchange Server mailbox for account B. You may have to log on to the network as the user of account B for proper validation.
          2. On the Tools menu, click Options.
          3. On the Delegates tab, click Add.
          4. Type or select the name for the user of account A, click Add, and then click OK.
          5. In all lists, in the Delegate Permissions dialog box, click to select Editor (can read, create, and modify items).
          6. Click OK two times.
          7. If the Folder list is not visible, click Folder List on the View menu.
          8. Right-click Mailbox - user name, and then click Properties for 'Mailbox - user name on the shortcut menu.
          9. On the Permissions tab, click Add.
          10. Type or select the name for the user of account A, click Add, and then click OK.
          11. In the Name box, click the newly added entry for account A.
          12. In the Roles box, click Owner, and then click OK.
          13. Repeat steps 8 through 12 for all the other folders in the mailbox.
          14. On the File menu, click Exit and Log Off.
          15. Restart Microsoft Windows, and then log on as the user of account A.
          16. Start Outlook with a profile that is configured for the Exchange Server mailbox for account A.
          17. On the Tools menu, click E-mail Accounts.
          18. Click View or change existing e-mail accounts.
          19. Click to select Microsoft Exchange Server, and then click Change.
          20. Click the More Settings button.
          21. Click the Advanced tab.
          22. Click Add to add an account to the Open these additional mailboxes: list.
          23. Type the name for the user of account B, and then click OK three times.
          The mailbox for account B appears in your Folder List.

          Microsoft Office Outlook 2007

          1. Start Outlook with a profile that is configured for the Exchange Server mailbox for account B. You may have to log on to the network as the user of account B for proper validation.
          2. On the Tools menu, click Options.
          3. On the Delegates tab, click Add.
          4. Type or select the name for the user of account A, click Add, and then click OK.
          5. In all lists, click to select Editor (can read, create, and modify items) in the Delegate Permissions dialog box.
          6. Click OK two times.
          7. If the Folder list is not visible, click Folder List on the View menu.
          8. Right-click Mailbox - user name, and then click Properties for 'Mailbox - user name on the shortcut menu.
          9. On the Permissions tab, click Add.
          10. Type or select the name for the user of account A, click Add, and then click OK.
          11. In the Name box, click the newly added entry for account A.
          12. In the Permission Level box, click Owner, and then click OK.
          13. Repeat steps 8 through 12 for all the other folders in the mailbox.
          14. On the File menu, click Exit and Log Off.
          15. Restart Windows, and then log on as the user of account A.
          16. Start Outlook with a profile that is configured for the Exchange Server mailbox for account A.
          17. On the Tools menu, click Account Settings.
          18. On the E-mail tab, click the name of the account, and then click the Change icon.
          19. Click the More Settings button.
          20. Click the Advanced tab.
          21. Click Add to add an account to the Open these additional mailboxes: list.
          22. Type the name for the user of account B, and then click OK three times.
          23. Click Next, click Finish, and then click Close.
          The mailbox for account B appears in your Folder List.

          The user for account A can send messages and meeting requests on behalf of the user of account B by entering the name of the user for account B in the From Field. These messages contain the names of the users for both account A and account B.

          Microsoft Office Outlook 2010

          1. Start Outlook with a profile that is configured for the Exchange Server mailbox for account B. You may have to log on to the network as the user of account B for proper validation.
          2. On the Files menu, click Info.
          3. Click Account Settings, and then click Delegate Access.
          4. On the Delegates tab, click Add.
          5. Type or select the name for the user of account A, click Add, and then click OK.
          6. In all lists, click to select Editor (can read, create, and modify items) in the Delegate Permissions dialog box.
          7. Click OK two times.
          8. If the Folder list is not visible, click Folder List on the View menu.
          9. Right-click Mailbox - user name, and then click Properties for 'Mailbox - user name on the shortcut menu.
          10. On the Permissions tab, click Add.
          11. Type or select the name for the user of account A, click Add, and then click OK.
          12. In the Name box, click the newly added entry for account A.
          13. In the Permission Level box, click Owner, and then click OK.
          14. Repeat steps 8 through 12 for all the other folders in the mailbox.
          15. On the File menu, click Exit and Log Off.
          16. Restart Windows, and then log on as the user of account A.
          17. Start Outlook with a profile that is configured for the Exchange Server mailbox for account A.
          18. On the Files menu, click Info.
          19. Click Account Settings, and then click Account Settings.
          20. On the E-mail tab, click the name of the account, and then click the Change icon.
          21. Click the More Settings button.
          22. Click the Advanced tab.
          23. Click Add to add an account to the Open these additional mailboxes: list.
          24. Type the name for the user of account B, and then click OK three times.
          25. Click Next, click Finish, and then click Close.
          he mailbox for account B appears in your Folder List. The user for account A can send messages and meeting requests on behalf of the user of account B by entering the name of the user for account B in the From Field. These messages contain the names of the users for both account A and account B.